Spooky Evening

Feeling a little bit rough this morning after last night! Thank you to all of you who turned up (300+?)and apologies to those of you that did not get in. I would like to think that it was me that you came see but I know that it was the topic. Anyway, back to Earth and scientific blogging. Should have something for you to ponder in a day or two. Cheers

 

halloween1Dr. Anne Cooke did such a wonderful job on the design for my public talk that I wanted to post it just in case any of you are in Bristol next week. Check here for other great Bristol Neuroscience activities.

6 Comments

Filed under book publicity, supernatural

6 responses to “Spooky Evening

  1. Arno

    Brilliant advert. Oh, and nice new banner btw! Will a similar type be used for the book cover?

  2. Man, I wish I was going to be in Bristol next week! That looks wonderful.

  3. brucehood

    Yes, the new banner is based on the US cover design – initially I was very against it as it smacked of tokenism.. you know.. black cats and superstition but having heard varying people’s opinions, I concede that HarperOne have probably got it right.

  4. Arno

    Mhm, it looks more.. stylish. More in line with the idea that covers have to look pretty (I love the effect of the cat’s hair on the background) instead of… well… I recall a cover in a style that resembled that of those boxes of washing powder from the fifties.

    Then again, even that is not half as bad as the monstrosity that is the cover of Haidt’s “The Happiness Hypothesis.” The person who had the idea to use a huge smiley as a cover for such a great book deserves a proper beating.
    Then again, it does learn you that you should never judge a book by its cover.

  5. It is a stylish cover Bruce, though it does have some gratuitous cat butt.

    (I have a cat who loves to show off her butt, I am sure she and your cover cat would get along great.)

  6. Jessica Pollitt

    Many thanks for a great talk last night! It was hugely enlightening and provoked much discussion around the dinner-table afterwards..!

What do you think?

