Bush Shoes for Christmas

I am all excited for tomorrow as I am hoping that Santa will have brought me a pair of Baydan Shoes Model 271. Yes, that’s right, these are the infamous Bush shoes hurled at the president in one of the most ridiculous and funniest moments in this whole sad episode.

A Turkish company claim to make them and have taken on an extra 100 staff to cope with the demand for the black polyurethane-soled footwear. “Between the day of the incident and 1pm today we have received orders totalling 370,000 pairs,” Mr Turk (I kid you not)  told AFP news agency. Normally the company sells only 15,000 pairs a year of that particular model, he added.

However, the brother of the journalist “shoe –ter” denies this. “It’s all nonsense. These people want to exploit what my brother did,” he said. “The Syrians claim the shoes were made in Syria and the Turks say they made them. Some say he bought them in Egypt. But, as far as I know, he bought them in Baghdad and they were made in Iraq.”

Why shoes? Well if you did not know, throwing shoes at someone is a major insult in the Middle East. How odd until you remember that we used to throw shoes at people leaving on a journey for good luck. Hence the origin of tying shoes and cans to the departing carriage of newly-weds. How quaint that these old customs still survive today.

Me. I don’t believe in any of this stuff. But I still want to wear a pair of Bush shoes… oops.. that’s sympathetic magical reasoning again… damn my supersense.

10 Comments

Filed under In the News, Television

10 responses to “Bush Shoes for Christmas

  1. Gus

    The best lesson here is that an entrepreneurial approach to the understanding of supersense has allowed Mr Turk to sell 355,000 more pairs of shoes than he normally would.

    Let’s say, conservatively, he makes £5 per pair, that’s over one and three quarter million quid!

    If you weren’t an academic, and therefore divorced from the merely mercenary, I’d suggest canning this publishing lark and branching out into aerodynamic footwear forthwith.

  2. Bruce, I’m a bit worried you might be carrying the supersense idea too far in this case. After all, do the people who are buying the shoes do so because they feel the shoes have some special quality to them or is it that they want to express their solidarity with Muntazir al-Zaidi? You might as well claim that all symbols such as flags and fashions are based on supersense. Now, while that is probably partially right, it also seems largely wrong. It seems mostly wrong because it fails to account for the group-orientated sense of the action. I may be perfectly willing to fly the flag to express my allegiance to some group but to then cut it up into cleaning cloths when it gets old and tatty.

  3. brucehood

    When then Konrad, you would be deemed to be sacreligious by the devout… whether it’s a flag, a cartoon, a shoe or a verbal insult, the medium is irrelevant. So yes, I am sorry to say it really is the same mechanism. Merry Christmas.

    B.

  4. I’m sure I would. Merry Christmas.

  5. Katie

    Shoe-buying to show support?? Back home in Floriduh, the good old frat boy ‘high five’ would have been support enough. These high-falutin’ supersense notions, psh.

    I was hoping to hear your thoughts on the Santa issue, Bruce. All of this maintaining the ‘magic’ of childhood actually – personally I see no harm, and I’m glad I have the memories of the fantasy. But I think it broke my mom up more having the Santa talk – I think she left a caveat in there somewhere actually.

    I never believed in the Easter bunny – Harvey had been a favourite film in our house since I was a little girl.

    Pretty quick reflexes from Dubbya there…and smiling a little?

  6. brucehood

    Hi Katie, Santa lost his magic for me long ago when Christmas became a festival of materialism. We are so caught up in the emotional blackmail of giving on Dec 25th that the whole event has become too sordid. Still try explaining that to their expectant, small faces.

    Humbug!

    b.

  7. Gus

    ‘Santa lost his magic for me long ago when Christmas became a festival of materialism.’ So he had some magic for you when Christmas was still a festival of religion? Bah Humbug. Happy Saturnalia!

  8. brucehood

    Sure Gus, I can get into religious festivals and enjoy the spiritual ambience! And apparently so can other atheists. I know that Dennett enjoys church and only this morning, Richard Dawkins called himself a “cultural Christian” on a BBC debate. In other words, he doesn’t believe but can still enjoy a good hymn.
    b.

  9. Gus

    Yes, I completely agree with that. It’s interesting to see Larkin’s poem ‘Churchgoing’ quoted in ‘The Portable Atheist’ anthology. As Hitchens says, it’s poetry that combines ‘the maximum of respect with the minimum of credulity’.

    It was only the idea of Santa, not church or churches ever having had ‘magic’ that I was questioning…

  10. brucehood

    Well, I guess it is possible that I thought he was real at some age but honestly I can’t remember thinking that. On the other hand I do remember believing in the paranormal and I expect this was triggered by seeing Uri Geller so I am not immune.

    If you read my blog on Tony Robinson’s new series you will see that all sorts of daft stuff still makes it into the mainstream!

    I am all for mystery and fantasy but let’s not completely con the audience.

What do you think?

