Losing My Religion

 

Ariane Sherine gives us a thought for the day!

Ariane Sherine gives us a thought for the day!

This is the face of the young lady who has launched a thousand atheist buses. She is Ariane Sherine, the TV comedy writer who came up with the atheist bus campaign. From the photograph I can only see her swelling the  ranks of many an atheist as a more acceptable face of youthful atheism. She is also presenting the first ever non-religious ‘thought for the day’ on tomorrow’s Radio 4. For those of you not familiar with this British institution, every morning on BBC Radio we hear some pearls of wisdom from a religious person. Up till now, they have never had an atheist, an agnostic or even a humanist. So you go girl!! I, for one, will be tuning in.

13 Comments

Filed under atheism

13 responses to “Losing My Religion

  1. “From the photograph I can only see her swelling the ranks of many an atheist as a more acceptable face of youthful atheism”

    You just had to use the word ‘swelling’, didn’t you? lol

  2. brucehood

    I know, I know… I’m incorrigible… it’s my diminishing frontal cortex that’s to blame!

  3. engrlouraine

    heheheh awwww… indeed a pretty face to look forward to.

    have a great day

    http://www.sassypinay.com

  4. Arno

    Was her thought anything insightful btw?

  5. Gus

    There’s a link to her ‘Thought’ on the always entertaining ‘How Good is That’ blog (Refuting superstitious arse talk since 1852)
    here:
    http://howgoodisthat.wordpress.com/2009/01/10/thought-of-the-day/
    (IMHO it’s not particularly riveting, but, as Bruce so eloquently suggests it may not be what Ms Sherine says that attracts others to her cause…) Hope the swelling’s gone down.

  6. Jesus died so that I
    could have a blissful
    four days break from
    work each year

    This thought is almost
    enough to turn me into
    a good god-fearing
    christian.

    Almost.

  7. How did you get Ariane Sherine in your garden?

  8. brucehood

    Alan, I wish….hmmmmm.

    I can always do with extra help in the garden!

  9. Pingback: Ariane Does it Again « Bruce M. Hood

  10. Anonymous

    I LOVE HER!

  11. Brazilian atheist.

    I’d like to marry her!

What do you think?

