Off to the US

I have to say goodbye for the moment. I am about to leave on a promotional tour of the book. When I first started this, the publishers asked me to keep a blog. For the life of me, I could not understand why I should do this. My first post was indeed entitled “The Reluctant Blogger,” which reflected my reticence  at engaging in what seemed to me, such a self-indulgent, unedited bout of naval-gazing. 

But I have to say that I was wrong. Yes, there are too many blogs about many inconsequential things (and I have to say I too, deliberately tried to be trivial) but in the process I have met and engaged with some brilliant minds who survive in the blogosphere. I am so lucky. I just happen to have a job where I can think for a living. I have the luxury to think about things that have nothing to do with any product or bottom line. That is so rare and I am grateful. But I recognize that I am nothing special and that there are many brilliant people out there. I sort of knew that already, but I never appreciated how smart , witty , sharp, generous and numerous they were.

This is not a farewell post. It’s just I can’t be here to blog as regularly as usual. I will keep you updated whilst on tour in the US.

I hope to appear on the National News for perpetrating the most outlandish crime against humanity! So look out for me in the press. And if you hear nothing, then you know that I will have failed.

Keep the SuperSense! Love & kisses

Bruce

11 Comments

Filed under General Thoughts

11 responses to “Off to the US

  1. Ram Venkatararam

    Yes, good luck Bruce. And many thanks too. I’ve really enjoyed your blog. Good luck with the book (and in obtaining more amazing Hammer posters!).

    Ram

  2. poietes

    Oh, it’s going to be so boring without you, but I understand how the marketing works.

    It’s been a wonderful blog in which to participate, and I hope that you return from your successful tour full of interesting topics to engage our minds. We will be so ho hum without you.

    Lita

  3. Naval gazing is best done from the crow’s nest. Best of luck in that funny place across the big lake. Remember to always speak louder if people say they can’t understand you.

  4. It’s great to see someone appreciate their position as you do – and it’s been great following the progress of someone who’s getting into the thick of it.

    I hope the tour isn’t too manic, and like everyone else on here we hope to have you back!

  5. Any date for Memphis? What would a visit to the US be without a visit to Graceland?

  6. brucehood

    Thanks, Myra, Ram, Lita & Katie.
    Yes, I’ll remember to shout Konrad but no Hardesty, no Memphis this trip.. but who knows about next time?

  7. poietes

    Oh Konrad,

    We aren’t all total buffoons on this side of the water, and I imagine that the people who turn out to hear Bruce will be of a, shall we say, higher quality than the usual pedestrian crowds who gather to see the likes of authors who write vanity bios and chaste vampire stories . . .

    But I agree about speaking louder if they say that they cannot understand you. Only when you speak louder, feign a Scots accents. That will really blow their minds.

  8. jacarandamimosifolia

    Best of luck for the tour and the mind boggles as to what the most outlandish crime against humanity might be…it’s sure going to be tough to achieve that in the land that spawned Donald Runsfeld and Paul Wolfowitz.

    We shall be glued to CNN!

  9. Oh Poietes,

    Of course all US citizens are stereotypical buffoons out of central casting. And all Europeans are cafe-swilling effete snobs who make gross overgeneralisations at the drop of a beret. And all Australians (another group I get to tick a box for) enjoy tender relations with their sheep. Ay, Hootsman!😉

  10. poietes

    Konrad,

    When you put it that way, how can I help but agree?

What do you think?

