Voodoo Histories

Aaronovitch, David C Nigel BarklieI turned up last night to the Arnolfini venue in Bristol to host an evening with David Aaronovitch who has just written a great book entitled, “Voodoo Histories: The Role of Conspiracy Theory in Shaping Modern History.”

Imagine my surprise when I encountered a group of 911 conspiracy theorists outside protesting. They represent a hardcore known as “The Truth Movement,” who believe that the attack on the twin towers was perpetrated by the Bush administration (or someone very close to them) to justify the invasion of Iraq. Aaronovitch was an outspoken supporter of the war and so I guess his previous views on the Iraq War combined with a book ridiculing conspiracy theorists was justification to protest.

I am about as politically naïve as they come and so I was totally unprepared for any confrontation. Although the crowd was fairly small at about 20, I did not know what to expect. This was heightened by the Arnolfini manager approaching me and talking me though the various contingency plans they had for dealing with an angry mob including escaping back to the green room and calling the police should anyone attempt to invade the stage. “Has that ever happened?” I asked. “Oh yes, someone took exception not so long ago did a crap on the stage,” he replied nonchalantly as if this was a reasonable way to lodge a complaint. 

After closing my now gapping mouth, I decided that it is best to always encounter your fear so I decided to go and speak to the protestors outside. Also, I thought they looked quite harmless and this would be a good opportunity for a photograph and item for a blog post. After all it was not me that they were objecting too.Bruce is the Dodgy Looking Protester in the Middle

As you can see they were a very convivial bunch and seemed genuinely pleased that I would allow them to pose questions to David during the session. Actually, one of the protestors handed a leaflet to David when he arrived failing to recognize the target of the protest. David was remarkably unfazed by all the fuss as he is fairly well-seasoned to personal attacks. I was just enjoying the spectacle of everything.

As it turned out, the evening went very well as David is an amazing speaker and raconteur. I did not have to work hard at all to fill the hour. Yes we did allow the protestors in the audience to speak but they were very civil and I have to say David was very respectful back to them without having to weaken his position. In fact the only retraction from David came from my own question to him about whether he still advocated the position he held concerning weapons of mass destruction when he said,

 “If nothing is ever found, I – as a supporter of the war – will never believe another thing that I am told by our government, or that of the US ever again. And, more to the point, neither will anyone else. Those weapons had better be there somewhere. They probably are.”

David’s response was the epitome of humility. “That was probably the most stupid thing I have ever said.”

In contrast, a conspiracy theorist would have found some way of justifying that remark. So my hat goes off to David Aaronovitch for holding unpopular views, sticking to his principles, admitting when he is wrong and not being worried by someone shitting on his stage.

I look forward to our next encounter.

9 Comments

Filed under book publicity, In the News

9 responses to “Voodoo Histories

  1. Great post, sounds like a really interesting talk and discussion. I’m also extremely curious about the dirty protest you mention – how on earth was it carried out in full before intervention?! I guess the element of surprise is everything!

  2. “Also, I thought they looked quite harmless and this would be a good opportunity for a photograph and item for a blog post.” — LOL🙂

  3. podblack

    Bloody. Hell. Seriously? On stage? Ewww.😦
    We have a small, small number of ‘truthers’ in this town, who I’ve written briefly about before. Rather odd bunch though. I have suspected that their number is dropping overall, but some ‘fringe’ groups outside of the USA persist.
    http://podblack.com/?p=1055
    and http://tinyurl.com/ozrmwl

  4. OK, OK, you are too good. I’ll buy your damn book !
    Smiling
    Your posts have been fantastic (I’ve only followed you for a short time.)
    Today’s post by “Epiphenom” and his video of you tipped me over the edge — I have got to get the book. After reading Epiphenom, it seems you and I already agree except you write better, are brighter and more photogenic (as today’s post shows).
    Keep up the great work ! Thank you

  5. brucehood

    Why thank you Sabio – you are too kind. That you for buying the book… that’s one down… only 19,998 more to go!

  6. Blimey Bruce!

    Photographed with 9-11 conspiracy theorists, and this post featured in the ‘politics’ section on British Blogs……

    Once the CIA get wind of this, you’ll never get back into the States.

  7. oh they crap on the stage all the time at the Gimcrack. Old women are the worst offenders, especially if they go commando…… they can drop one from a standing position and just keep walking

  8. poietes

    Great picture. They don’t look very radical to me, though. Where are the peace signs? Where are the banjoes? Where is the tear gas . . . sorry, got carried away there.

    Glad the event went well, and really glad about his comment. Honesty is so refreshing.

    By the way, the one year that I taught public middle school here, they used to find crap on the auditorium stage as a matter of course. I never could quite get over that and the way the administration took it in stride. Perhaps it was political commentary . . .

  9. I think that blogging was aawyls going to decline in overall insignifigance as alternatives such as Facebook and Twitter came along and gave users are wider range of choices. The number of people who want to write that kind of long form posts was aawyls going to be limited.On the other hand blogging is not about to disappear as it continues to offer the chance for people to share their opinions on the internet without requiring any particular IT skills. Like the mobile phone the fact that blogging has so quickly ceased to be considered revolutionary or even unusual has blinded us somewhat to its groundbreaking importance in transmitting ideas and opinions.

What do you think?

