SuperSense Goes Camping

AD_CAMP09Camp Quest is a residential summer camp for the children of those who hold to a naturalistic, not supernatural world view. The camp is offered as a godless alternative to traditional religious summer camps, such as vacation Bible schools. It started in the US but the first ever UK Camp Quest is being held this summer in Bath, not too far from where I live. Samantha Stein is the organizer and you can watch her interview here.

My youngest actually told me about it and asked to go so I was only too delighted to send her off for a week. For the record, I have never pushed any atheist or agnostic view on my daughters and they seem to have migrated to this way of thinking by themselves. However, both are not so sure about ghosts at the moment. Anyway, I will be reporting back on the UK Camp Quest in July when it is held as I am really keen to see this scheme get publicity and work.

As an added bonus, I just discovered that the organizers have heard about SuperSense. I swear I did not try to plug my book but I am delighted to see that “SuperSense” is recommended reading in their online store. I promise to go along and sign any copies but I should warn parents that there is sex, murder and maggots in the book that may not be suitable for children, even those who don’t believe.

7 Comments

Filed under book publicity

7 responses to “SuperSense Goes Camping

  1. My son, after a visit to his class by the priest at the local Catholic cathedral, said that he thought God was like the fairies at the bottom of the garden: ‘nice to believe in until you’re old enough to know better’.
    That was a fun entry in the school contact book…

  2. PS I am on the case with a piece for our papers…x

  3. poietes

    Warn them about the maggots. That’s the worst part.

  4. Sounds fab. I would have loved to go on something like that. Similarly I went to a CoE school (no alternative) and although my parents are atheists they never pushed their views onto me. I decided quite early on that the whole God thing didn’t really add up…but I was completely obsessed with ghosts! Well into early teens. I guess of the two it’s the more ‘fundamental’ of the two beliefs?

  5. brucehood

    Dear WIB.. I eagerly await your divine intervention. Seriously thanks for helping me out here. Don’t worry Poietes, I don’t think they are on the menu. Yes, Karen – I would argue that ghosts are the default belief that religions have picked up on. Young children cannot readily understand the idea of ceasing to exist (so can’t most adults).

  6. My kid spent several summers at a Quaker camp. They never talked about God since, to Quakers, all that talking is what causes most of the problems. They were serious naturalists too. CoEd skinny dipping at the high school camp.

  7. This post was very useful. Found your site looking for something totally different – but I just have to book mark it anyways.

What do you think?

