Songs of Praise

Last night I gave a talk at Bristol’s Skeptics in the Pub where I demonstrated that our experiences can be easily misled. I showed the hilarious alternative lyrics video of Carmina Burana that I managed to download before the spoil-sports who own the copyright made YouTube take it down. After the talk, Dr. Suzi Gage told me about Adam Buxton’s reinterpretation of “Songs of Praise” and so I am posting them here for your entertainment while I get on with some serious work. Now I know why Dan Dennett likes singing in his church choir – Enjoy!

9 Comments

Filed under General Thoughts

9 responses to “Songs of Praise

  1. HA!😀 I actually used the ‘Songs of Praise’ during my presentation on skepticism and belief at the recent Global Atheist Convention!😀 It went down wonderfully!

    I think so many people were accustomed to the usual ‘Stairway to Heaven’ routine that Shermer, Wiseman, et al use – that I asked Adam Buxton if I could use his work. After showing the lyrics afterwards, people realised how they’d been fooled.🙂

  2. I was at your talk last night to Skeptics in the Pub as a group from the University of Bristol Atheist, Agnostic and Secularist Society. I found your talk really interesting and these video examples particularly hilarious examples of how easily we’re fooled!

    I’m enjoying you on the radio again right now:
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b00rkdnw

  3. brucehood

    Hi Mike,

    Thanks for this… no one told me that I was on BBC4 last night – that would explain the spike in book sales on Amazon!

    Glad you enjoyed last night
    Bruce

  4. Pingback: Das schönste Kirchenlied aller Zeiten « Aufklärung 2.0

  5. jacarandamimosifolia

    Those videos are absolutely brilliant!

  6. What…..

    No saucy codpiece?

    ……amateur stuff.

  7. Argh. Nobbly beat me to SaucyvCodpiece.

    Thanks for that. Richard Gere was my favorite part. I needed a laugh today.

  8. The O Fortuna piece, although shifted by the youtube humour police, can now be found here…

    http://carmina.ytmnd.com/

    …if anyone is still interested.

  9. Ava

    These videos were funny🙂 …… although the “Funky Songs of Praises…” one didn’t really fool me. I could hear the real words. That’s probably because the words in that song were much clearer than the largely ambiguous words of the hymn.

What do you think?

