Cup C Cakes

Fancy a Nipple?

I have been blogging about our attitudes to human breast milk a number of times but discovered today that the issue is much closer to home than I realized. Local Clifton resident Abi Blake has been using her Bristols to good effect by making cupcakes with her own breastmilk that she feeds to friends and family and also sells at music festivals. Apparently she has also made smoothies with it! Abi claims, “I have managed to convert all my family who now adore my breast milk recipes and they all agree it tastes better.”

I think they must be ‘yakawow’

Jen McCreight gets it off her chest

I have just noticed that my last two blogs have been boob-related – one indirectly and one intentionally. Maybe I am coming under the influence of the forthcoming boobquake event which is scheduled to take place on Monday at noon. You may know that some Iran cleric has accused immodestly dressed women as being responsible for earthquakes. “Many women who do not dress modestly … lead young men astray, corrupting their chastity and spread adultery in society, which (consequently) increases earthquakes,” Hojatoleslam Kazem Sedighi was quoted as saying by Iranian media.

So in a scientific test of this supernatural belief, 80,000 women will expose their breasts at noon EST to determine whether they can trigger an earthquake. The plan is the brainchild of Jennifer McCreight who is a “liberal, geeky, nerdy, scientific, perverted atheist feminist.” What a gal!

10 Comments

Filed under In the News, Weird Story of the Week

10 responses to “Cup C Cakes

  1. Arno

    That.. is awesome!
    Where/when is the next festival she’ll be selling her cupcakes? I want some.

  2. Arno, unless Ms Blake provides you with a full clean medical history then you would be absolutely mental to eat cupcakes made from her breast milk, for precisely the same reasons you wouldn’t eat something made from her blood.

  3. brucehood

    Yakawow…. The fabulous Tracy King has commented! Now If I can just get the rest of the amazing skepchicks to visit then I know I have arrived.

  4. Arno

    “absolutely mental”

    ..that does summarize me nicely, I have to admit. But more seriously, yeah, point taken. I might have to wait until the other options I have on my “Do before I die” list are all crossed off.

  5. I knew a man at the medical school who used his wife’s breast milk to make muffins. He swore they were the best muffins that he had ever eaten. No seriously.

    His wife was aghast that he had told people.

    Boobquake is a wonderful reaction to the cleric’s statement. Now if only someone would come up with something equally wonderful for Pat Robertson’s next declaration.

  6. When I was breastfeeding, I used to sit at one end of the dining table and try to squirt milk into my partner’s coffee. Never really succeeded – I’ve always been a bad aim.

    If that woman is making cupcakes for family and friends and still has enough milk left over to make more to sell then she must be using a breast pump ten times a day. Is she still feeding a baby as well???

  7. brucehood

    You are naughty Nurse Myra! Abi has an 8-month-old so I expect I may see her in my lab soon as we are also Clifton based. I’ll keep a suspicious eye out for mothers who bring their own cupcakes along.

  8. Arno

    Just give them to me.

  9. Anonymous

    This makes me think of the “Natural Harvest” cook book. But we can digest our own milk better than cow’s milk, so I suppose lactose intolerance wouldn’t be much of an issue with dairy products made with human breast milk

What do you think?

