I Just Need a Bang on the Head

Tuesday Lopsang Rampa AKA Cyril Hoskin

My Friday favourite Nurse Myra reminded me some weeks back about the supernatural consequences of a bang on the head. Apparently a number of individuals have acquired psychic abilities after concussions but none is more bizarre than Cyril Hoskin, a local man from Devon, who fell out of a tree in his garden only to regain consciousness as the reincarnated Tibetian monk Tuesday Lobsang Rampa (apparently Tibetan names begin with the day of the week they are born). Lobsang went on to write a book, “The Third Eye” in which he recounted his previous life growing up in a Tibetan monastory after being sent there at the age of seven.

Despite being ridiculed as a hoax, The Third Eye went on to become an international bestseller. The title of the book refers to an operation Lobsang claims to have had where a hole was drilled in his forehead to enable him to use his third eye to see people as they truly were. Even his publishers did not believe their author and at one point his editor tested him with some Tibetan language to see if he recognized his native tongue. When he was told that he had just failed to understand a single word of his “own language”, Lobsang Rampa threw himself onto the floor, writhing in agony claiming that he had been horrifically tortured by the Japanese in the war and had blocked out all knowledge of Tibetan.

Lobsang went on to write 18 books and enjoy a successful career as an author…. That’s what I need .. A damn fine bang on the head… and a hard neck!

5 Comments

Filed under General Thoughts, Weird Story of the Week

5 responses to “I Just Need a Bang on the Head

  1. You mean all this time my writing has been hampered by my own lack of a cruising bang on the head??

    I read an article about a woman who had a migraine so severe that when it was over, she had a Chinese accent: “I knew I sounded different but I didn’t know how much and people said I sounded a bit Chinese.

    “Then I had another attack and when the ambulance crew arrived they said I definitely sounded Chinese.”

    Apparently, this is a proven medical condition known as . . . wait for it . . . Foreign Accent Syndrome.

    I hope that after I have my next migraine I begin to speak like Marlene Dietrich.

  2. brucehood

    yes. Its a real condition and the woman in question was in the news recently and… get this…. also from Plymouth, Devon the same place as Cyril…. now if that is not spooky?

  3. You also need a Siamese cat to really be a success in this field😉

  4. Is being from Plymouth a recognised condition, too, then?

  5. It must be the Plymouth connection.

What do you think?

