Bad Case of Crabs

A coconut crab

The wonderful Gia Milinovich re-tweeted this site earlier today and I just had to blog it. These ugly monsters are coconut crabs that inhabit many Indo-Pacific islands including Nikumaroro, which is believed to be where the pioneer aviator Amelia Earhart ended her days after failing to fly round the world back in July, 1937.

your worst nightmare?

An expedition led by Richard Gillespie to Nikumaroro recovered artifacts and a partial skeleton lending weight to the claim that Earhart managed to land the plane on the island and survive for some time before succumbing to disease, hunger or some other misfortune. “The reason why they found a partial skeleton is that many of the bones had been carried off by giant coconut crabs. There is a remote chance that some of the bones might still survive deep in crab burrows,” Gillespie said. He intends to return to the island this summer and thinks that further remains might be found. I for one have no intention of ever wanting to see one of these ugly brutes in the flesh.

7 Comments

Filed under In the News, Weird Story of the Week

7 responses to “Bad Case of Crabs

  1. haha—are you kidding me? I would run like a banshee if I saw one of those things….holy shmokes…

  2. My, my. Those are definitely not the cute little hermit crabs that I am used to seeing.

  3. So this guy is planning to return to Nikumaroro to dig in the burrows of giant coconut crabs intent on finding Amelia Earhart bones?

    He must be motivated by that essence stuff you get all jazzed up about, Bruce. It’s the essence stuff, right? Same reason folks buy dead celebrity’s things at charity auctions?

  4. Anonymous

    I am astounded that you find them ugly. Why do you? Because you imagine them creeping up on you?

    I think they are gorgeous.

  5. brucehood

    Put it this way, I think that H.R. Giger, the designer for Ridlet Scott’s (1980) Alien captured the primeval fear that such creatures evoke. I can just imagine that thing clamped over my face! It’s strange – I have no problem with spiders on the other hand. I once had an allergic reaction to eating lobster that I no longer can touch – maybe that was it.

  6. I have the same reactions towards snakes (mostly on TV, strangely enough), but I would never say they are ugly, though.

What do you think?

