Glastonbury Report

As you can imagine, Glastonbury was unbelievable. I did not plan to go because my daughter was going for the first time and complained that it would be ruined if she knew I was there. The likelihood of finding anyone in this maelstrom of madness is slim but I gave in and did not buy a ticket.

However, the brilliant Robin Ince was performing and offered me a guest pass. If you are a follower of this blog then you will know that apparently I share a striking resemblance to Robin, so I thought it might be a hoot to turn up and play doppelgängers. Needless to say I was mistaken quite a few times by those under the influence. I met a really great bunch of comics who made me laugh alot including Ed Byrne and his lovely wife, Claire. I also met Shappi Khoursandi and introduced her to cider so became her NBF. Finally, the incorrigible Andrew Maxwell was awesome round the campfire and really knows how to party. I am not a comedy groupie but I think I should make more effort to go see live comedy.

If you don’t know anything about Glastonbury then suffice to say that it is a woo-fest. Michael Eavis organized the first festival 40 years ago in 1970 when he had Marc Bolan and T-Rex headlining. Since then it has grown into a behemoth of an event with over 200,000 festival goers. People drink alot, take drugs, dance madly, dress crazily and generally lose their inhibitions. During the week they maybe city accountants but come Glastonbury they are peace-loving hippie ravers.

Tiki Love TruckGlastonbury is a mecca of woo. There was too much to choose from but rather than pick the predictable astrologers, sooth-sayers or crystal worshippers, I managed to find something of the macabre that caught my attention. Parked near to my tent was this amazing “love truck” that had been transformed into a work of art. Pasted in the window was this note explaining that the car was a mobile shrine to John Joe Amador who was executed by lethal injection in 2007 for the unprovoked murder of a taxi driver in San Antonio. I read the report of the crime and it seems that there was nothing to suggest that Amador was innocent but one of the artists, Carrie Reichardt who worked on truck was moved to create this mobile work of art.

What I found most interesting was the fact that Nick Reynolds from the band Alabama 3 (I watched them the night before and they are neither from Alamaba nor are there just three of them) had made a death mask of Amador which was mounted on the front of the bus. Moreover, the truck contained the blood, hair and nails of the executed murderer. Hmm… spooky and very much in tune with SuperSense, which by the way is published today in paperback in the US under the new title, “The Science of Superstition: How the Developing Brain Creates Supernatural Beliefs.”

3 Comments

Filed under General Thoughts

3 responses to “Glastonbury Report

  1. very spooky indeed Bruce

  2. Did you actually read the section on the clarkprosector site under;
    Amador v. Quarterman, 458 F.3d 397 (5th Cir. 2006) (Habeas)
    There is ample evidence there to indicate that Ash was not the murder in this case.
    Ash went to his death claiming his innocence and I believe him. Anyone who knows about USA death row, knows that Capital punishment mean that those with no capital get punished.
    For more information about Ash and the death mask go to ;http://www.guardian.co.uk/world/2007/sep/27/usa.art
    Thanks for the interest though.
    Carrie

  3. brucehood

    No Carrie, I didn’t read the section on clarkprosector site, only the court report so I can’t really make a judgement. It would not surprise me to learn that he was innocent. I happen to think that execution as a form of retribution/punishment/preventive measure is however, abhorrent, irrespective of guilt.

    I was interested in your homage and think you are a very talented artist, for what that’s worth.
    b.

What do you think?

