Polish Pussy

That’s not an instruction to buff up your kitty  but rather the latest cat-related interpretation of a cover for my book SuperSense from the publishers in Poland. I believe the last translation of the book will be in Japanese which is due to be published next March.

Will the Netherlands be the only country not to go for the feline theme or will Japan join them? I await in eager anticipation and will post a collage of the different book covers in the spring. Then I promise not to bore you further with my self-indulgent promotion.

Speaking of which, my next book is about the “self” which hopefully I should finish next year.

10 Comments

Filed under book publicity

10 responses to “Polish Pussy

  1. Gerard Simons

    Thanks for your post, Prof. Hood.

    But I still find that those women in Asia who breastfeed piglets and puppies very extraordinary. The act of concern on their part is commendable.

  2. The Sixth Sense: Unbelievable but True. Can’t say I like their translation of the title. And it’s already out. Great. I guess I know what half of my dearest and nearest will be getting this Axe Mess.

    I wonder, though, if it isn’t false advertising to have cute kitties on a book that full of mass murderers and maggots?

    • brucehood

      Indeed Konrad… just about every publisher and reviewer has misunderstood what the book is actually about. And many have interpreted it to fit with their own preconceptions.
      Thanks for helping with Polish sales!
      b.

      • I hope the translation is OK. I read the translated version of Simon Blackbourne’s Think and the translator thought, among other things, that a pomeranian had to be a guy from northern Poland, rather than the dog breed Simon was refering to. In effect, much of that translation was a pomeranian’s breakfast. I’ll let you know what I think of the job they did on your book once I’ve had a chance to look at it.

  3. Oh, and on a Polish book retailer’s website they have the information that the book most often ordered with yours is… Paulo Coelho’s Wisdom Diary!

  4. The cat (greyed out) is upside down on the cover of my Australian copy

What do you think?

