Revenge of The Ring?

A curse ring?Last week, we learned that Prince William had given Kate Middleton her late mother’s engagement ring, a stunning blue sapphire surrounded by diamonds. He told the press ‘As you may have recognised, it’s my mother’s engagement ring, so of course it’s very special to me and Kate’s very special to me now as well…It was my way of making sure my mother didn’t miss out on today, and the excitement and the fact that we’re going to spend the rest of our lives together.’

However, some commentators have raised concerns about using this ring which was associated with a bad marriage, divorce and the untimely death. Some think the ring is cursed. Rings of course are full of superstition and ritual.  The ring finger was thought to be the direct arterial flow to the heart and hence this is why it is encircled – the eternity of the shape and so on. It’s more than just a symbol. That’s why I often use the wedding ring as an example of a sentimental object that people would not accept an identical duplicate as a replacement.

I have even had first hand experience of this type of thinking as my late mother-in-law had a ruby ring that she too, thought was cursed. So much so, that she did not leave it in the will to any of the children and was buried with it! Personally, I would have been happy to flog it. But then again, I am not that sentimental.

 

3 Comments

Filed under In the News, supernatural

3 responses to “Revenge of The Ring?

  1. I figure Kate Middleton has seven days.

  2. I’m a sentimental fool, so I think using the ring is sweet. That being said, I, too, would have sold the ruby ring given the chance.

What do you think?

