In Japan, Just Say “No”

Finally here is the cover for the Japanese translation of “SuperSense.” It does seem like a big REJECT but apparently the Japanese publishers have been quite cunning. Above the X is the question”Could you wear a killer’s cardigan?” which by now, as you know, is one of my opening gambits to the notion of essentialism that I develop in the book. The X stands for a “No” but as it happens is also a sacred symbol in Japanese that is often incorporated into knot tying. I kind of like it. It almost compels you knot to buy it.

Below is a recap of some of the best kitty covers adopted by different countries.

Ok, as promised, that will be the end of the blatant self-promotion…..

BTWDid I tell you that I am working on my next book about the self?????

6 Comments

Filed under book publicity

6 responses to “In Japan, Just Say “No”

  1. I hope you have them all lined up nicely on your book shelf

  2. I like the one that’s third from the left on the top row best of all

    • brucehood

      Me too Nursie… It’s Italian but it’s one that has not been sent to me. Guess I’ll try and pick up a copy when I next in Italy.

  3. Still love the bottom right the most. That cat has presence.

  4. Jo Benhamu

    Hi Bruce. I figured plonking this question on a post about books would be as good a spot as any to ask you this question. I was having a debate with a friend yesterday about the merits of e-readers vs books. I don’t like e-readers and prefer to hold a book in my hands. There’s something comforting and “real” about the experience of curling up with an actual book. I suggested that when reading a book, one imbues that specific book (object) with meaning, ie: the feelings one had when reading the book, the time and place you were in and how those things affected the experience of that book. E-readers remove that for me. When the “book” is just a file on a computer or on an e-reader, you can’t pick it up and re-experience those feelings. It becomes intangible. I appreciate it probably only applies to some people. I’ve known people who throw books away after they’ve been read and have no such sentimental attachment to them. What are your thoughts on this?

    (Oh, and I also like the Italian one. Reminds me of the Meg & Mog books I read as a child.)

    • brucehood

      Hi Jo… I totally agree and the experience is also the same for the writer. When you see your words transformed into an object that can be held, this is a ‘magical’ moment – not because it represents the culmination of a task that has often taken a long time but because the words seem substantiated – tangible. In fact, I often think that they don’t seem like them come from me.

      I never get that experience with electronic versions of books or scientific papers for that matter even though these are now becoming the standard. Some of my happiest moments have been in the bowels of libraries just touching and soaking in the smell of old books.

What do you think?

