What’s on my mind

4 Comments

May 10, 2012 · 3:56 pm

4 responses to “What’s on my mind

  1. I don’t mean to alarm you, Dr. Hood, but I think there’s a pair of Converse sneakers trying to take over your work space.

    I wonder what you think of cat and dog behaviorists then, or behaviorists in general trying to understand the mind of another species. Considering the challenge of seperating ourselves from our own perceptions, would it not then be nearly impossible to interpret the perception of a cat or a dog? Can we subtract or add brain structures and truly understand how that changes an entire experience?

    (BBC famously reported on a study which showed a spider building a replica of “itself”. In fact the spider had constructed a model of a spider body; what I wondered was how on earth that species could know what it actually looked like).

  2. “basically everything that’s unethical” hahahahaha… love it

  3. Matt Nicholson

    I was very excited to read your description of the self or ‘me’ as being a narrative, assembled from memories, as it is exactly the conclusion that I had been working towards. For me it shines a light on why stories, and particularly myths, are so important to us all as they reinforce our own stories and provide the shared building blocks (the ‘archetypes’, as it were) from which they are constructed.

    On a slightly different note, with regards to your views on reality, I am minded of the words of Dumbledore towards the very end of Rowling’s mammoth series. Harry asks, “Is this all real? Or is it just happening inside my head?” To which Dumbledore replies, “Of course it’s happening inside your head, Harry. Why should that mean that it’s not real?”

What do you think?

