How Would You Like to Be Mounted?

Puerto Rican corpse biker

He really should be wearing his safety helmet

Believe it or not, the young man in this picture is dead. David Morales Colón, 22, who worked as a messenger was killed by gunmen in Puerto Rico last week. It’s a violent city and no doubt the killing was gang-related but what makes this story unbelievable is that David asked that he be mounted on his favourite Honda motorcycle for his funeral. David is “on display” until tomorrow.

david colon dead biker

David does look pretty cool - stone cold in fact!

I think that this could start a really interesting trend. The funeral home that carried out the embalming, also struck an unusual pose for 24-year-old Angel Medina who wanted to be standing at his own wake two years ago. Here is Angel in the corner of his mum’s living room. Come to think of it  – why bother with the burial? Could make for a very useful hat stand.

mummified Puerto Rican corpse in corner

Angel in the corner of mum's 'living' room

11 Comments

Filed under General Thoughts, Weird Story of the Week

11 responses to “How Would You Like to Be Mounted?

  1. Very odd. And disturbing, in a deep animal-brain way. But I don’t see why this is any worse in principle than lying in a plush coffin for a funeral/wake/etc.

    There’s a definite disconnect here between my reason and my instinct. I think I’ll stick with cremation, and encourage folks to have a big party after I die.

  2. I want to be cremated and then I want my friends to drag my ashes around on a Pub Crawl.

  3. Seems to me this reflects a desire to be remembered in a way more representative of how one lived life rather than as how one is traditionally laid out. I can imagine this paradigm shift would be initially disturbing for the survivors. But perhaps through exposure the practice would enter the zeitgeist. Hey we all want to leave a legacy. Interesting – very interesting.

  4. Disturbing in an interesting sort of way.

    As for me, I’ll stick with cremation. Have no desire to be around people after I’m dead.

  5. Wow. This is amazing. Would love to appear at my own funeral doing a Macca-style thumbs up.

  6. My family found this practice quite disturbing – noting that the viewing is for survivors not the deceased. All in all I’m with poietes on this issue. Scatter my ashes at a spot of great beauty away from the masses.

  7. It’s trully a strange way to memorize your funeral! Some people don’t choose the old-fashioned funeral today (talking about my uncle who wanted a telephone booth planted on his grave. For me, he’s the oddest man ever lived.)..

    but i love your post.. funny for me.

  8. Do telephone booths have deep roots? Are they deciduous? What colour are the flowers?

  9. Pingback: Babe Piggy Bank |

  10. Pingback: Remind Me to Amend My Will « The Empire of Jeff Newsletter

What do you think?